When I Get Older

Ageing is in fashion. Mainly the funding of social care,  but while waiting for the governmental report, the BBC is screening a series of documentaries ” when I get older”.

I would have loved to discuss the episode about Care Homes with contemporaries. Alas none of my friends had seen it and some even actively avoided doing so.

I thought that Simpson’s experience of living in a home for people suffering from dementia was particularly touching and instructive. To a certain degree it reflected my own experience of visiting an aunt with Alzheimer’s for her 100th Birthday party. The fear of dementia is understandable but I think it is also politically paralysing. Witnessing Simpson’s change of perspective was comforting to me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

