Olympic Games

The Olympic Games open tonight after a deluge of media coverage drowning any other  information. At my tube station an announcement on a  loop advises me that I should seek another way of travelling to the centre of London.

I remember 7 years ago  before London won the bid how unconcerned I was with the  games because 7 years seem such a long time ahead and I felt unsure of  projecting myself in the future.  I noticed before,  this change in the perception of the future at the occasion of the  New Year. I wonder if other old people experience this change of outlook on the future.

 

One thought on “Olympic Games

  1. i am not as old as you and amongst my friends i have never heard a comment such as: “if i am still here” or i may be gone by then” for the short term future, say 5 to 10 years. but for me and some of my co cancer or other chirnic diseased friends, we say/think it all the time, anything planned in the near future and our eyes glaze over. i thionk it must be inthe mind of many over 70s, we are not allowed to express it or explore it , our near and dears, freinds and health workers do not want to go there.

Leave a Reply

