“I write from a critical and feminist perspective” M. Holstein

“I write from a critical and feminist perspective , which means that I question, challenge, contest and resist the status quo ( Ray 1999) ” Martha Holstein

At long last a book, Women in Late Life  that fulfils my wish for a general feminist view of the experience of ageing. I have read so much about ageing, attended so many seminars and conferences and meetings since I retired 20 years ago.  Although I have absorbed some knowledge this has remained fragmented and in a way difficult to relate to personally. My work on feature films has been stimulating but has made me angry more often than enlightened.

Martha Holstein’s book fulfils my need of making sense of all this information and I have finally found a language that I identify with in this complex field.

I strongly  recommend this book to women who need to make sense of their ageing.

 

2 thoughts on ““I write from a critical and feminist perspective” M. Holstein

  1. I quote Holstein: ‘ Self-worth for women is embodied in a way that it is not for men’. If one looks at pictures on the TV how many old women does one see in pictures of high level meetings and conferences, politicians etc…? Why is grey hair a sign of distinction for a man and not for women. How many ageing women need to dye their hair in order to apply for a job, and not be discriminated against? The combination of ageing and sexism is toxic.

Leave a Reply

